Leeds 2024 Programme Thursday

Scientific Programme
Day one

Thursday 20th June 2024
The Carriageworks and Leeds City Museum, Leeds


08.00 Registration

08.45 Welcome


09.00 Session 1
Free Papers & Keynote

09.00 Free papers
Moderators – Mr Nabil El-Hindy & Mr Colin Vize
Moderators’ introduction

09.05 Thursday
A case series of serum IgE testing in patients with periocular inflammation. 206
Simerdip Kaur (view abstract)
Sussex Eye Hospital, Brighton, UK

09.10 Thursday
Periocular involvement in trigeminal trophic syndrome 207
Sonia Peñarrocha (view abstract)
Moorfields Eye Hospital

09.15 Thursday
The effectiveness of facial exercise therapy in ophthalmic complications of facial nerve palsy and the CADS grading scale as an ophthalmic specific grading system 208
Christina Lim (view abstract)
Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust

09.20 Thursday
Conjunctival primary acquired melanosis with periocular lentigo maligna: 19-year outcomes at a London (UK) tertiary referral centre 209
Mumta Kanda (view abstract)
Queen’s Hospital, Barking Havering and Redbridge Trust

09.25 Thursday
A North-South divide in tissue excised for the removal of periocular basal cell carcinoma 212
Gemma Manasseh (view abstract)
Bristol Eye Hospital

09.30 Thursday
Medial fornix reconstruction using modified buccal mucosal and fat pearl grafts 214
Yunfei Yang (view abstract)
Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

09.35 Thursday
Survey of ptosis surgery approach of British Oculoplastic Surgery Society (BOPSS) members 215
Harshika Chawla (view abstract)
Health Education England North East

09.40 Thursday
Surgical Videography of Oculoplastic Procedures using a Modified GoPro 201
Timothy Zoltie (view abstract)
University of Leeds

Closing remarks by Moderators

09.50 KEYNOTE: How technology makes us better oculofacial surgeons
Prof Don Kikkawa

10.20 – 11:00
Tea and Coffee

11.00 Session 2

11.00 Round Tables

11.00 Trainee Session – Ophthalmic Dermatology
Dr Philip Laws

12.15 – 13.30
Lunch at the trade exhibition

13.30 Session 3
Free Papers

13.30 Free papers
Moderators – Mr George Kalantzis & Mr Nikos Koutroumanos
Moderators’ introduction

13.35 Thursday
Predictive demographic and clinical features for the development of Dysthyroid Optic Neuropathy in a multi-ethnic Thyroid Eye Disease population 202
Malik Moledina (view abstract)
Western Eye Hospital

13.40 Thursday
Teprotumumab Update: Top US prescriber’s real-world personal experience of over 200 TED patients with respect to broadening treatment indications based on clinical study findings 203
Steven Leibowitz (view abstract)

13.45 Thursday
A ‘Real life’ study of thyroid eye disease (TED) following radioactive iodine (RAI) therapy 205
John Vekinis (view abstract)
Moorfields Eye Hospital

13.50 Thursday
Interleukin-6 (IL-6) Receptor Signalling Inhibition With Satralizumab in Thyroid Eye Disease (TED): Phase 3 SatraGO-1 and SatraGO-2 Trial Design 211
Daniel Ezra (view abstract)
Moorfields Eye Hospital and University College

13.55 Thursday
Correlation of Graves’ ophthalmopathy-quality of life (GO-QOL) scores to demographic and clinical features in a Thyroid Eye Disease (TED) cohort 213
Simrun Virdee (view abstract)
Central Middlesex Hospital

14.00 Thursday
A 20-year review of orbital biopsy at the Newcastle Eye Centre 216
Yanmei Chen (view abstract)
Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle Upon Tyne

14.05 Thursday
Presentation of orbital metastases 210
Allan Nghiem (view abstract)
Moorfields Eye Hospital

14.10 Thursday
A novel training session: Mixed reality evisceration surgery webinar 204
Li Yen Goh (view abstract)
Moorfields Eye Hospital

Closing remarks by Moderators


14.20 Session 4

14.20 Staged surgical rehabilitation of the patient with thyroid related orbitopathy: technical details
Prof Bob Goldberg

14.50 – 15:30

15.30 Session 5

15.30 Sclerotherapy for orbital vascular disease
Dr Alex Barnacle

16.00 Role of the Interventional Radiologist in orbital vascular disease
Prof Tufail Patankar

16.30 Questions for all sessions

16.45 Management of optic nerve glioma
Dr Sue Picton/Mr Ian Simmons

17.15 Short break for non-members to leave hall

17.20 AGM (full paid up members only please)

18.00 Close


19.00 Gala Dinner: ASPIRE