Collin Scholarship

The annual Collin Scholarship Prize is named after BOPSS founder and founding president Mr Richard Collin.

Mr Richard Collin is Lead Consultant in the Adnexal / Oculoplastics Service, and runs both the Eyelid and the Microphthalmia-Anophthalmia Clinics in Moorfields Eye Hospital. He is a member of ASOPRS (American Society Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery) and past President of the ESOPRS (European Society Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery), which he co-founded with John Wright and Richard Welham almost 25 years ago. He is an eminent oculoplastic and reconstructive surgeon who has published many landmark papers on Eyelid Surgery and trained a large number of oculoplastic Surgeons in the UK and world wide. He has been inspirational in fostering oculoplastics in the UK and is author of three books, the most well known of which is his Manuel of Systemic Eyelid Surgery.

The award is for up to £5000. The intention is to support a trainee oculoplastic surgeon at the beginning of their research career with a succinct project that would be fully (or almost) funded by the value of the award. The aim of the award is to allow the researcher to answer a clinical or research question, which could be achieved during their training. This is in contrast to a project proposed by an experienced researcher applying for top-up funding for a large or long term project. It is a condition of the award that the recipient attends a BOPSS conference (at his or her expense) to give a short presentation (max 10 minutes) to disseminate their results.

Full BOPSS members or medical practitioners working with or for them are eligible. The responsibility for making awards rests with the BOPSS Research and Awards Advisory Committee (BRAAC)

Full details of the award and application process.

Application deadline is on the 28th February – extended to 29th March.